Soldering Irons · Buyer's guide

Best Soldering Irons and Stations of 2026

From the pocket-sized Pinecil V2 to bench stations like the Hakko FX-888DX, ranked on published power, temperature range, control and ESD safety.

OSBy OhmSavvy Research TeamUpdated
models compared
13models compared
hands-on tested
1hands-on tested
in-depth reviews
5in-depth reviews

Station, pen or portable: narrow it down first

These irons fall into four groups: bench stations with a separate base, plug-in pen irons with the control on the handle, USB-C portables, and one combined iron and hot air station. The group matters more than the brand, because it decides where you can work, which tips you can buy and how the iron copes with heavy joints. Our soldering iron vs soldering station explainer covers that choice in detail, and the soldering iron buying guide walks through wattage, tips and temperature control. First-timers should also see the best soldering iron for beginners, and if your work is mostly circuit boards and fine-pitch parts, our ranked Top 10 for electronics work narrows the field further.

For a closer look at individual tools, read the Weller WE1010NA review and the Pinecil V2 review, or put the two leading stations head to head in Weller WE1010 vs Hakko FX-888DX. Portable buyers deciding between the two smart irons can compare them in Pinecil V2 vs TS101. Once you own one, the guide to soldering iron tip types and soldering temperature by metal help you set it up for each job.

Power and temperature range compared

IronTypePower (as the maker states it)Temperature range
Hakko FX-888DXBench station100W station (65W iron)50–480°C
Pinecil V2Portable, USB-C/DCUp to 88W at 24VNot stated
Q-MING 60W KitPlug-in pen, dial60W200–450°C
Weller WE1010NABench station85W station (70W iron)100–450°C
YIHUA 862BD+Iron + hot air75W iron / 500W hot air200–480°C iron
Hakko FX-601Plug-in, dial on handle67W240–540°C
Miniware TS101Portable, USB-C/DCNot clearly stated50–400°C
YIHUA 926 IIIBench station60W (listing; sources conflict)90–480°C
X-Tronic 3020-XTSBench station75W station (60W iron)200–480°C
YIHUA 939D+Bench station"75W equivalent" (sources conflict)200–480°C
Liouhoum 80W Soldering Iron KitPlug-in pen, LCD80W180–480°C
FNIRSI HS-02APortable, USB-CUp to 100W100–450°C

From each maker's page or the official Amazon listing. Station figures are total power with the iron's own rating in brackets where the maker gives both. Several budget makers publish conflicting numbers: X-Tronic also quotes 90°C as the 3020-XTS minimum, and YIHUA's own page gives the 939D+ a 450°C maximum, so treat those ends of the range with care.

Where each temperature range starts and ends

Most of these irons top out between 400°C and 480°C, which covers electronics comfortably. The real differences are at the ends. A low minimum, like the 50°C on the FX-888DX and TS101, lets an iron idle cool on the stand; a 240°C floor, as on the Hakko FX-601, is warm for delicate SMD parts. At the top, the FX-601's 540°C suits heavy terminals and stained glass, while the TS101's 400°C ceiling is the lowest here.

Hakko FX-601
540°C
Hakko FX-888DX
480°C
YIHUA 862BD+
480°C
YIHUA 926 III
480°C
X-Tronic 3020-XTS
480°C
YIHUA 939D+
480°C
Liouhoum 80W Kit
480°C
Weller WE1010NA
450°C
Q-MING 60W Kit
450°C
FNIRSI HS-02A
450°C
Miniware TS101
400°C
Maximum iron temperature in °C. The Pinecil V2 isn't shown because its range isn't in our verified data.
Hakko FX-601
240°C
Q-MING 60W Kit
200°C
YIHUA 862BD+
200°C
X-Tronic 3020-XTS
200°C
YIHUA 939D+
200°C
Liouhoum 80W Kit
180°C
Weller WE1010NA
100°C
FNIRSI HS-02A
100°C
YIHUA 926 III
90°C
Hakko FX-888DX
50°C
Miniware TS101
50°C
Minimum settable temperature in °C, from the same sources. Lower bars can idle cooler.

Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through the links below, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

At a glance

Our top picks

1Hakko FX-888DX
Best Overall4.7★★★★★

Hakko FX-888DX

The FX-888D's replacement: the same T18 tips and handpiece, with a 100W station, a proper dial and five presets.

Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓
2Pinecil V2
Best Portable4.7★★★★★

Pinecil V2

USB-C powered and pocket-sized — the rare budget tool that doesn't feel like a compromise.

Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓
3Q-MING 60W Kit
Best Budget4.3★★★★☆

Q-MING 60W Kit

A genuinely complete starter kit — easy first purchase for anyone new to soldering.

Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓

Also great

Quick shopping

Compare at a glance

Swipe sideways on mobile to see every spec.

ModelAwardRatingPowerHeat-up timeTemperature control
Hakko FX-888DX#1Hakko FX-888DXBest Overall4.7★★★★★100W station (65W iron)Not stated by HakkoDigital, closed-loop, 50–480°CCheck price →
Pinecil V2#2Pinecil V2Best Portable4.7★★★★★Up to 88W at 24V DC; about 60W from 20V USB-C PD~12 seconds (with a 20V+ supply)OLED digital displayCheck price →
Q-MING 60W Kit#3Q-MING 60W KitBest Budget4.3★★★★☆60W~15 secondsAdjustable dial, 200–450°CCheck price →
Weller WE1010NA#4Weller WE1010NABest for Professional Benches4.6★★★★★85W station (70W iron)~28 seconds (50–350°C)Digital, 100–450°C, ESD-safeCheck price →
YIHUA 862BD+#5YIHUA 862BD+Best 2-in-1 with Hot Air Rework4.3★★★★☆75W iron / 500W hot air (720W total)——Check price →
Hakko FX-601#6Hakko FX-601Best Stationless Iron4.4★★★★☆67W (120V)Not stated by HakkoDial on handle, closed-loop, 240–540°CCheck price →
Miniware TS101#7Miniware TS101Best Portable Smart Iron4.4★★★★☆USB-C PD 9–20V or DC 9–24V (65W adapter included)Not statedDigital, OLED, 50–400°CCheck price →
YIHUA 926 III#8YIHUA 926 IIIBest Budget Station4.3★★★★☆60W per listing (YIHUA site: 130W max, 18W rated)Not stated by YIHUAPID, LED display, 90–480°CCheck price →
X-Tronic 3020-XTS#9X-Tronic 3020-XTSBest Budget Kit with Long Warranty4.4★★★★☆75W station (60W iron)Under 30 s, 200 to 480°C (X-Tronic's listing)PID, LED display, 200–480°C, ±2°CCheck price →
YIHUA 939D+#10YIHUA 939D+Best Value ESD-Safe Station4.4★★★★☆"75W equivalent" (listing; spec table says 120W)Not stated by YIHUAPID, LED display, 200–480°CCheck price →
Liouhoum 80W Soldering Iron Kit#11Liouhoum 80W Soldering Iron KitCheapest Digital Kit4.2★★★★☆80W, 110–120V10 s (listing's claim)LCD, buttons, 180–480°CCheck price →
FNIRSI HS-02A#12FNIRSI HS-02ABest High-Power Smart Iron4.4★★★★☆Up to 100W, USB-C PD/QC 9–20V2–3 s tinning (FNIRSI's figures differ)Digital, color screen, 100–450°C, 3 presetsCheck price →

In depth

Detailed reviews

#1Best Overall4.7★★★★★

Hakko FX-888DX

The FX-888D's replacement: the same T18 tips and handpiece, with a 100W station, a proper dial and five presets.

Best for:Serious hobbyists, repair benches

Hakko replaced the FX-888D with the FX-888DX. It keeps the FX-8801 handpiece and T18 tips, the 50–480°C range and ±1°C idle stability, but the station rises from 70W to 100W, swaps the old button interface for a push-button rotary dial with a digital °F/°C display, stores five presets and adds a parameter lock against accidental calibration. It is ESD safe and also drives Hakko's tweezers, solder gun and larger irons.

Power
100W station (65W iron)
Heat-up time
Not stated by Hakko
Temperature control
Digital, closed-loop, 50–480°C
Best for
Serious hobbyists, repair benches

Reasons to buy

  • +Same T18 tips as the FX-888D
  • +Rotary dial and five temperature presets
  • +ESD safe; drives other Hakko handpieces

Reasons to avoid

  • −Larger than a portable iron: the station weighs 1.2 kg
  • −Counterfeits exist: buy from authorized sellers
  • −No stated sleep or standby mode
Check price on Amazon →Price shown at retailer, may fluctuate.
#2Best Portable4.7★★★★★

Pinecil V2

USB-C powered and pocket-sized — the rare budget tool that doesn't feel like a compromise.

Best for:Portability, field repairs

USB-C powered, pocket-sized, and genuinely fast to heat up — the Pinecil V2 is the rare budget tool that doesn't feel like a compromise, making it a favorite for on-the-go repairs.

Power
Up to 88W at 24V DC; about 60W from 20V USB-C PD
Heat-up time
~12 seconds (with a 20V+ supply)
Temperature control
OLED digital display
Best for
Portability, field repairs

Reasons to buy

  • +Extremely compact and travel-friendly
  • +Fast heat-up for its size
  • +Powered by any USB-C PD source, even a power bank

Reasons to avoid

  • −No stand included by default
  • −Needs a USB-C PD or DC supply; full power needs 24V
  • −Pine64's Amazon listing still describes the original Pinecil (65W, 12–21V barrel jack): check the version shown before you buy
#3Best Budget4.3★★★★☆

Q-MING 60W Kit

A genuinely complete starter kit — easy first purchase for anyone new to soldering.

Best for:Beginners, occasional use

A genuinely complete starter kit — ceramic heating element, multiple tips, and a stand included, at a price that makes it an easy first purchase for anyone new to soldering.

Power
60W
Heat-up time
~15 seconds
Temperature control
Adjustable dial, 200–450°C
Best for
Beginners, occasional use

Reasons to buy

  • +Comes with 5 tips and a stand in one box
  • +Very low price for a complete kit
  • +Simple dial control, no learning curve

Reasons to avoid

  • −No digital temperature readout
  • −Build quality suited for light, occasional use
#4Best for Professional Benches4.6★★★★★

Weller WE1010NA

ESD-safe construction and tight temperature stability for a dedicated electronics bench.

Best for:Dedicated workbenches, professional use

Weller's WE1010NA brings ESD-safe construction and tight temperature stability to an 85W digital station driving a 70W iron, making it a strong choice for anyone running a dedicated electronics bench.

Power
85W station (70W iron)
Heat-up time
~28 seconds (50–350°C)
Temperature control
Digital, 100–450°C, ESD-safe
Best for
Dedicated workbenches, professional use

Reasons to buy

  • +ESD-safe design protects sensitive components
  • +Strong temperature stability under sustained use
  • +Backed by Weller's long-standing reputation

Reasons to avoid

  • −Higher price point than hobbyist kits
  • −Not portable — bench-only design
#5Best 2-in-1 with Hot Air Rework4.3★★★★☆

YIHUA 862BD+

A soldering iron and a hot air rework station in one box, for SMD and BGA work a plain iron can't touch.

Best for:SMD/BGA rework alongside general soldering

The 862BD+ pairs a 75W soldering iron with a separate 500W hot air gun in one station, aimed at SMD and BGA rework rather than general through-hole soldering alone. It's a genuinely different tool category from a standalone iron, not just a cheaper or pricier version of one.

Power
75W iron / 500W hot air (720W total)
Temperature range
200–480°C iron, 100–480°C hot air
Display
LED, independent iron/air readouts
Best for
SMD/BGA rework alongside general soldering

Reasons to buy

  • +Combines a soldering iron and hot air rework station in one unit
  • +Wide temperature range on both the iron and the hot air gun
  • +Independently adjustable iron and hot air temperatures with separate LED readouts

Reasons to avoid

  • −This US listing is the 110–127V version; buyers elsewhere need their region's variant
  • −Larger and more complex than a basic iron if you never do SMD rework
#6Best Stationless Iron4.4★★★★☆

Hakko FX-601

A temperature-controlled Hakko iron with the dial on the handle and no station to find room for.

Best for:Heavy wire, terminals, stained glass

The FX-601 is a mains-powered iron with closed-loop temperature control built into the handle: a ceramic heater with its own sensor, a 240–540°C dial and a lock key to stop it being knocked. At 67W it reaches higher than most bench stations, which suits heavy wire, terminals and stained-glass work, but it has no display and its lowest setting of 240°C is warm for fine electronics.

Power
67W (120V)
Heat-up time
Not stated by Hakko
Temperature control
Dial on handle, closed-loop, 240–540°C
Best for
Heavy wire, terminals, stained glass

Reasons to buy

  • +No station: plugs straight into the wall
  • +High 540°C ceiling for big joints
  • +Lock key keeps the setting fixed

Reasons to avoid

  • −No temperature display
  • −240°C minimum is hot for delicate SMD work
  • −Sold by third parties on Amazon; Hakko warns of counterfeits
Check price on Amazon →Price shown at retailer, may fluctuate.
#7Best Portable Smart Iron4.4★★★★☆

Miniware TS101

A portable smart iron with an OLED screen, USB-C PD or DC input and TS100 tip compatibility.

Best for:Portable kits, field repairs

Miniware's TS101 is the successor to the TS100: a portable iron with an OLED display, 50–400°C range, motion-sensing sleep, an overheat warning and a Boost button, powered from USB-C PD (9–20V) or a 9–24V DC supply. This kit includes a 65W USB-C adapter, and TS100 tips fit. It goes head to head with the Pinecil V2; Miniware's listing gives conflicting wattage figures, so we don't quote one.

Power
USB-C PD 9–20V or DC 9–24V (65W adapter included)
Heat-up time
Not stated
Temperature control
Digital, OLED, 50–400°C
Best for
Portable kits, field repairs

Reasons to buy

  • +USB-C PD or DC input; 65W adapter in the box
  • +Motion-sensing sleep and Boost button
  • +Takes TS100 tips

Reasons to avoid

  • −400°C ceiling is lower than bench stations
  • −Maximum wattage not clearly stated by Miniware
  • −Amazon listing is a kit sold by a third-party seller
Check price on Amazon →Price shown at retailer, may fluctuate.
#8Best Budget Station4.3★★★★☆

YIHUA 926 III

A compact PID station with sleep and calibration, sold as a full kit with helping hands and six tips.

Best for:First station for hobby electronics

The 926 LED III is a small digital station with the iron holder built into the body and tip slots in the rear guard. It covers 90–480°C with PID control, switches between °C and °F, supports digital calibration and sleeps after 5, 10 or 30 minutes idle. The Amazon kit adds two helping hands, six 900M-series tips, lead-free solder, a solder sucker and ESD-safe tweezers. Power figures conflict: the listing says 60W, while YIHUA's own page lists 130W maximum and 18W rated.

Power
60W per listing (YIHUA site: 130W max, 18W rated)
Heat-up time
Not stated by YIHUA
Temperature control
PID, LED display, 90–480°C
Best for
First station for hobby electronics

Reasons to buy

  • +Adjustable sleep timer and digital calibration
  • +Six 900M-series tips and helping hands in the kit
  • +Holder built into the station saves bench space

Reasons to avoid

  • −Wattage figures conflict between the listing and YIHUA's site
  • −Station ESD safety isn't stated (only the tweezers are ESD safe)
Check price on Amazon →Price shown at retailer, may fluctuate.
#9Best Budget Kit with Long Warranty4.4★★★★☆

X-Tronic 3020-XTS

An ESD-safe PID station from a US-based brand, with a 3-year warranty and a 10-minute sleep timer.

Best for:Hobby benches that want a long warranty

X-Tronic's 3020-XTS is a 75W station (60W to the iron, 15W to the iron's control board) with PID control, a 200–480°C range, ±2°C static stability and a blue LED readout with a C/F switch. It's ESD safe, sleeps and cools down after 10 minutes, and runs on 110V only. The Amazon kit includes two helping hands, a silicone mat, five spare tips, a 50 g lead-free roll and a brass tip cleaner. X-Tronic, based in Lincoln, Nebraska, backs it with a 3-year warranty. Its own page also quotes 90–480°C for the iron, so the low end of the range is inconsistent.

Power
75W station (60W iron)
Heat-up time
Under 30 s, 200 to 480°C (X-Tronic's listing)
Temperature control
PID, LED display, 200–480°C, ±2°C
Best for
Hobby benches that want a long warranty

Reasons to buy

  • +ESD safe with a 10-minute sleep and auto cool-down
  • +3-year warranty and US-based support
  • +Kit includes helping hands, silicone mat and five tips

Reasons to avoid

  • −110V only, no 220V version
  • −X-Tronic's pages give two different minimum temperatures
Check price on Amazon →Price shown at retailer, may fluctuate.
#10Best Value ESD-Safe Station4.4★★★★☆

YIHUA 939D+

A transformer-based, ESD-safe station with a metal front panel and a detachable iron, at a hobby price.

Best for:ESD-sensitive hobby and repair work

The 939D+ is a transformer-based station with PID temperature control, a 200–480°C range, °C/°F display, temperature calibration and error detection. The station and its 907E detachable iron are ESD safe, the front panel is brushed aluminum and the iron stand is a separate metal unit. It takes YIHUA's 900M tips. The listing calls it "75W equivalent" but its spec table says 120W, and YIHUA's own page (for a 220V model) quotes a 450°C maximum, so treat the headline numbers with care.

Power
"75W equivalent" (listing; spec table says 120W)
Heat-up time
Not stated by YIHUA
Temperature control
PID, LED display, 200–480°C
Best for
ESD-sensitive hobby and repair work

Reasons to buy

  • +ESD-safe station and iron
  • +Built-in transformer and metal front panel
  • +Uses common 900M-series tips

Reasons to avoid

  • −Power and maximum temperature figures conflict between sources
  • −Sleep mode isn't stated for this US version
Check price on Amazon →Price shown at retailer, may fluctuate.
#11Cheapest Digital Kit4.2★★★★☆

Liouhoum 80W Soldering Iron Kit

A digital-readout pen iron with auto sleep for about the price of a spool of solder.

Best for:Beginners on a tight budget

Liouhoum's 80W kit is a plug-in pen iron with an LCD, so you set and read 180–480°C directly instead of guessing from a dial. Per the listing, it drops its temperature after 5 minutes on the stand, remembers the last setting, supports calibration and switches between °C and °F. The kit includes five tips, rosin-core solder, flux, a sponge and a basic stand. There's no station, no ESD rating and no stated tip series, so it suits starter and occasional repair work rather than a daily bench.

Power
80W, 110–120V
Heat-up time
10 s (listing's claim)
Temperature control
LCD, buttons, 180–480°C
Best for
Beginners on a tight budget

Reasons to buy

  • +Digital temperature readout at a very low price
  • +Auto sleep after 5 minutes on the stand
  • +24-month replacement offered by the seller

Reasons to avoid

  • −No ESD rating or named tip series
  • −Light stand and basic accessories
Check price on Amazon →Price shown at retailer, may fluctuate.
#12Best High-Power Smart Iron4.4★★★★☆

FNIRSI HS-02A

A 100W USB-C smart iron with a color screen, three presets and a 100W charger in the box.

Best for:Portable kits that need real power

The HS-02A is a pen-sized smart iron that draws up to 100W from USB-C PD or QC (9–20V), covers 100–450°C and shows settings on a 0.96-inch color screen. It stores three temperature presets, supports calibration and has sleep, auto power-off and a child lock. This kit includes six tips (K, KU, JS, I, C2, B), a 100W charger and a mini stand, and the iron weighs 61 g. It has no battery, so it always needs a supply, and FNIRSI lists a different tip set for the HS-02B, so buy HS-02A tips.

Power
Up to 100W, USB-C PD/QC 9–20V
Heat-up time
2–3 s tinning (FNIRSI's figures differ)
Temperature control
Digital, color screen, 100–450°C, 3 presets
Best for
Portable kits that need real power

Reasons to buy

  • +100W charger and six tips included
  • +Three presets plus calibration
  • +Only 61 g

Reasons to avoid

  • −No built-in battery: needs a PD/QC supply
  • −FNIRSI's 2-year warranty applies to direct orders, per its site
Check price on Amazon →Price shown at retailer, may fluctuate.

No longer sold on Amazon

  • Hakko FX888D: Hakko has discontinued the FX888D and Amazon lists it as currently unavailable. The FX-888DX replaces it and takes the same T18 tips.

Methodology

How we chose

We compared power, heat-up time, temperature control, and tip availability, weighing portable irons and bench stations against how often and where you will actually solder.

Specs from the sourceEvery spec is checked against the manufacturer's official product page or datasheet and the official Amazon listing. Where sources disagree, we say so.
Fit over feature countEach pick earns its place for a specific kind of buyer, and we name who should skip it, rather than ranking on spec-sheet length.
Owner feedback, cross-checkedWe look for patterns in verified-purchase reviews to catch reliability issues that spec sheets never show.
No sponsored picksWe earn mainly from Amazon affiliate commissions and may also show display ads from Google. No brand or advertiser can pay for a spot, a ranking or a badge, and ads never affect our picks.

Picks marked "Hands-on Tested" have been bought and tested by us; the rest are desk research. A pick only carries that badge once we have actually bought and tested that unit. More on how we research.

Questions

Frequently asked questions

How much wattage do I actually need?+

For general electronics and hobby work, 60-70W gives enough thermal headroom to solder larger joints without losing temperature. Anything below 40W can struggle to heat up ground planes or thicker wires quickly. Wattage only tells half the story, though: a well-controlled iron with good tip contact recovers faster than a higher-rated one with a loose, poorly coupled tip.

Is a digital temperature display necessary?+

Not strictly, but it removes guesswork. Digital stations let you dial in the exact temperature a specific solder type or component needs, which matters more as your projects get more sensitive (e.g., SMD work). A dial-only iron like the Q-MING kit works, but you set it by feel and can't confirm the tip is actually at the number printed on the handle.

What temperature should I set my soldering iron to?+

A common starting point is around 315–345°C (600–650°F) for 63/37 leaded solder, which melts at 183°C, and around 350–370°C for lead-free SAC alloys, which melt near 217–220°C. Go hotter for heavy wire or ground planes and cooler for small parts. If the joint takes more than a few seconds to wet, a bigger tip usually beats turning the temperature up.

Is a USB-C soldering iron as good as a bench station?+

For most hobby joints, yes, provided the power supply can deliver. The Pinecil V2 reaches 88W only from a 24V DC supply and about 60W from 20V USB-C PD, and the FNIRSI HS-02A needs a 100W PD charger for its full rating. A weak phone charger will heat slowly and sag on large joints. Stations still win on stands, tip choice and all-day comfort.

Does a soldering iron need to be ESD safe?+

If you work on boards with MOSFETs, microcontrollers or other static-sensitive chips, an ESD-safe iron grounds the tip so stray charge can't discharge through a pin. The Hakko FX-888DX, Weller WE1010NA, X-Tronic 3020-XTS, YIHUA 939D+ and YIHUA 862BD+ are listed as ESD safe. For wires, connectors and through-hole kits, a non-ESD iron is usually fine with sensible grounding habits.

Can I use any tip on any soldering iron?+

No. Tips are made for a particular heater design, so they rarely cross between brands. The FX-888DX uses Hakko T18 tips, the Weller WE1010NA uses ET tips, the YIHUA stations take 900M-series tips, and the Miniware TS101 accepts TS100 tips. Check that the tip family is still sold before you buy an iron, because replacement tips are the part you will buy again and again.

More soldering iron guides and reviews

Product reviews

View all 5 reviews →